Curse of the deflected meme

This is starting off badly. I’ve been tagged before, but didn’t respond, because everyone was being witty and pithy and cute and I was so swamped with work and stuff that I couldn’t locate my inner Dorothy Parker.

Also, I found it a bit phoney. To respond I’d have to keep it light and fluffy, or risk giving too much info, if you get my drift. Neither option was compelling.

Now the curse of the deflected meme has come back to bite me…

Via Alan Patrick – “Name five reasons why you do (or do not) respond to memes”.

Caveat: I hate getting into in discussions as a participant when I’m not clued up about the fundamentals. And this discussion requires, IMHO, that I go read some books. Dawkins’ The Selfish Gene, Steven Pinker’s The Blank Slate maybe, and perhaps Kenan Malik’s Man Beast and Zombie.

Going, going…

Well that’s three solid weeks off work I’ve got coming up then! Otherwise, how can I even say I know what memes are supposed to be, what the counter arguments are, and if my 2p is worth anything…

Or I can be just one dead-end for the “meme” while it makes its frothy way elsewhere, so removing myself from it’s propagation. Pushover that I am, I’m taking the latter option. I’m making up some answers without prior knowledge, and I’m not tagging anyone.

So, those reasons why I “do (or do not) respond to memes”.

Gone!

Yikes, have I answered already? 😉

(1) They complement or accord with thoughts or perspectives I already entertain.

(2) They clash with or challenge perspectives I have previously adhered to in an exciting or illuminating way – ie. frisson or growth (expand your mind).

(3) They help achieve / reinforce consensus (ie. group think) – none of us are entirely innocent of this.

(4) Insecurity – we accept some ideas when we are seeking affirmation through others and lack internal confidence. As a teenager, this was more common for me compared to later on.

(5) Another reason I sometimes don’t respond that’s also connected with becoming an oldster is ye olde chestnut of “priorities”.

However, while I might not respond to a “meme” visibly or publicly, that don’t mean I’m immune to it or that I’m not secretly pondering its dimensions somewhere in my own little Republic 😉

[Note: None of the above serves to undermine the fact that I have a memes handbag.]

4 responses to “Curse of the deflected meme

  1. Boo! Looking at my records, you still owe us your 5 top albums, 5 top superheroes (and villains) and your 5 top delicious tags.

    Hehe 🙂

  2. One should make a pilgrimage to the Algonquin at least once…..

  3. Ah yes, holding court on West 44th…

    I can picture that 😉

Leave a Reply

